Jack Andraka, Please Take Me to the Prom

Fuck Miss America.  Fuck Buzzfeed.  Fuck MTV.  I want more Jack Andraka in every form of media.  I don’t want to watch shitty television with terrible people who happen to be beautiful.  I want Jack Andraka to be a cultural hero and icon.

Watch this.

I love this freaking kid.  He’s fifteen and already developed a “new, non-invasive method to detect early-stage pancreatic cancer.”  He’s glowing because he won a prize because he obviously cares about things that matter: people, science, and quality of life.  There are so many shitty people, and then there’s Jack Andraka, squealing with joy and pride, smiling with his mouth open, in complete delight at his accomplishment, which is DETECTING A DEADLY CANCER.  I remind you, he is fifteen.

He’s everything good and pure in this world.
He’s Charlie Bucket and I want to give him a chocolate factory.
I think Jack Andraka is fucking dreamy, and he makes me hate everything snarky and bitchy and not earnest in the world.

I want to go to the prom with him.  Or maybe this lady should go with him because she’s dope as hell (no one has ever looked better or cooler in a hospital gown).

I had to share this because I need people like Jack Andraka to know that his work matters, his passion matters, and that his guileless, irrepressible smile is the best I’ve ever seen.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
* Hat tip to my mom (who probably wouldn’t know what it meant if I said “h/t,” and good for her.  These abbrevs are really starting to get stupid.  I’ll bet Jack Andraka speaks in full sentences.) for sending this video.

Leave a Reply

